Blank Paper
3DBook.png

Martin Johannson, médecin

Dans son livre, Carol Edwards examine un phénomène bien connu de nombreuses personnes souffrant de TOC mais encore inexploré ou même ignoré par la communauté médicale et psychologique: le sentiment très dérangeant d'aimer le contenu d'une pensée intrusive ou de vouloir agir sur elle, au point où s'engager avec l'obsession peut avoir des propriétés presque addictives. Pour de nombreux patients (en particulier ceux qui ont un trouble obsessionnel-compulsif ou des obsessions sexuelles), cette expérience est la seule partie de leur trouble obsessionnel-compulsif dont ils n'arrivent pas à très bien s'éloigner même avec la TCC et peut être l'aspect singulier qui les maintient coincés dans un interminable cycle de rumination et de tests où ils essaient de prouver qu'un désir redouté est erroné. Cela tend alors à exacerber le TOC et donc à augmenter l'hyperfocalisation sur la sensation désirable indésirable. Le livre comprend plusieurs études de cas (y compris l'histoire personnelle de Carol) qui aident les personnes atteintes à comprendre cette partie compliquée de leur TOC et permettent aux professionnels sans TOC de comprendre l'expérience dont souffrent leurs clients. Il livre également une théorie sur le fond neurologique de ce phénomène et des conseils pratiques sur la façon de traiter ces obsessions en coupant les compulsions avec l'ERP tout en évitant d'être absorbé dans le sentiment désirable. Ma conclusion personnelle à la fois en tant que personne souffrant de TOC et en tant que professionnel de la santé: Un excellent livre qui comble une importante lacune dans les connaissances dans le traitement du TOC et devrait être une documentation standard pour tous les professionnels qui traitent des personnes ayant des pensées intrusives avec une composante de désir.

J'ai été très impressionné par la lecture de votre livre et par votre connaissance du TOC. Et faire savoir aux gens que vous avez vécu ce qu'ils vivent est très important. Je pensais à l'obsession transgenre et cela doit être vraiment difficile. Wow. Le TOC est comme un abîme et s'y retrouver est vraiment un voyage, puis il y a bien sûr un entretien. Vous êtes si bien informé et c'est si facile à lire et je veux dire cela d'une manière très complémentaire. Vous faites en sorte que la personne qui souffre n'ait pas besoin d'être médecin pour la comprendre. Merci! tu es un merveilleux écrivain, Deb

Ben Carney, musicien

Ce que j'ai le plus aimé dans "Desire-Intrusive Pensées", c'est que le sujet du désir n'a pas été écarté comme une caractéristique des obsessions pures. Comme le souligne l'auteur, de nombreux cliniciens font simple en disant que ce n'est que votre TOC. C'est vrai, oui, restez simple, mais il est logique que, puisque le côté plaisir de notre cerveau est en partie impliqué dans le TOC, cette interférence doit d'une manière ou d'une autre être abordée en thérapie. Je suis d'accord avec l'auteur que si l'aversion n'est pas désirée, le désir l'est aussi, car chaque émotion ou réaction fait partie du trouble. En thérapie, je sais combien il est difficile de résister aux rituels pour minimiser le dégoût et réduire l'anxiété, mais je peux maintenant voir à la lecture de ce livre comment l'absorption se produit davantage lorsque le désir est impliqué, affectant le processus d'accoutumance. Je suis d'accord que les gens s'imprègnent tellement de rituels pour essayer d'éviter toute forme de désir lié à leurs peurs obsessionnelles. En tant que victime de TOC, la troisième partie du livre a dissipé beaucoup de confusion pour moi dans ce sens. Le TOC est un trouble cruel, et je pense que l'auteur saisit bien comment une explication biologique peut aider à améliorer les résultats du traitement.

NW, pilote

J'ai trouvé ce livre fascinant. L'auteur inclut ses propres expériences de vie avec le TOC pour commencer. Dans la deuxième partie du livre, elle décrit le fonctionnement de la thérapie pour le TOC et utilise les dialogues du thérapeute et du client, ce qui est bien car cela montre comment la structure de la thérapie fonctionne. Dans la troisième partie du livre, je l'admire pour avoir assumé toute une tâche de recherche des raisons pour lesquelles les gens semblent aimer le contenu de leurs pensées intrusives qui est en fait indésirable. Le cerveau est une chose étrange et donc lire sur les obsessions du point de vue de l'aversion pour le désir était comme wow, enfin quelqu'un est assez courageux pour tester la théorie selon laquelle même s'il est de notoriété publique que nous nous sentons excités malgré le fait que ce soit indésirable, il y a plus. Le livre explique habilement que l'excitation n'est pas seulement sexuelle, mais aussi «excitante» lorsqu'elle se mêle aux obsessions du mal et à «l'attirance méchante» dans les obsessions religieuses. Ce livre fournit un aperçu, montrant pourquoi la thérapie de prévention de l'exposition-réponse peut ne pas fonctionner et comment la faire fonctionner. Je dirais que le seul inconvénient mineur de ce livre est que certaines des lectures techniques sur la biologie du TOC (dans les derniers chapitres) étaient un peu difficiles à lire, mais dans l'ensemble, je recommande ce livre à tout le monde (et aux thérapeutes) vivant avec Pure O, et qui ont surtout peur d'aimer leurs pensées.

Chase Craft, gardien d'animaux

Une étude impérative de l'élément le plus tortueux de l'une des maladies psychiatriques les plus complexes.

Il y a eu de nombreux livres importants écrits sur le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, dans lesquels la plupart se sont concentrés sur les symptômes les plus courants tels que le lavage excessif des mains, les routines ridicules et les exigences atroces de la perfection. Bien que ces branches du TOC causent beaucoup de ravages dans la vie des malades, il y a aussi un autre côté infernal de la maladie qui, bien que ne se manifestant jamais visuellement, tourmente sans pitié ses victimes avec des pensées de dégoût, de violence, de thèmes blasphématoires et sexuellement suggestifs. Cela brutalise ses victimes avec des doutes sur son caractère et sa santé mentale, tout en aggravant une immense honte pour une personne, les forçant à cacher ses idées horribles, lui permettant ainsi de reprendre sa sauvagerie mentale pendant de longues périodes de temps. Cette arme de choix du TOC est appelée pensées / obsessions intrusives, et ces dernières années, il y a eu une poignée de livres très informatifs à sortir centrés sur ce specteur mental angoissant.

Un de ces livres, Desire-Intrusive Thoughts de Carol Edwards, plonge dans ce phénomène psychiatrique très complexe et offre au lecteur un regard en profondeur sur l'une des formes les plus souvent mal comprises et paralysantes du trouble. Elle examine les sentiments intrusifs de culpabilité, de désir et d'incertitude qui permettent au TOC de maintenir ses victimes dans l'esclavage de la peur qu'il jaillit.

En tant que victime de pensées intrusives (Pure O) depuis 1984, j'ai trouvé le livre de Carol étonnant, révolutionnaire, encourageant et juste une aubaine absolue pour ceux d'entre nous qui ont porté le fardeau de Pure O tout au long de notre vie. Elle met en lumière les sentiments trompeurs et l'excitation que les pensées peuvent apporter, ce qui amène une personne à remettre en question son être et ses valeurs. Elle explique la différence entre un réel désir de faire du mal et l'illusion que le TOC place sur sa psyché. Il fournit au lecteur encore plus de compréhension derrière les mécanismes qui font que les menaces de TOC semblent si réelles et offre beaucoup d'espoir car il présente une meilleure focalisation sur la supercherie que le TOC utilise pour manipuler ses victimes afin de maintenir en vie son cercle vicieux. C'est un must absolu pour ceux qui ont été retenus prisonniers dans leur propre esprit par cette bête cérébrale brutale connue sous le nom de TOC!

les critiques de livres

Debora Jan Gray, Acteur

Paper Stack and Pencil

Desire-Intrusive Thoughts

By Carol Edwards

Desire-Intrusive Thoughts_ Book
00:00 / 02:12

Welcome to my book "Desire-Intrusive Thoughts". 

 

I've uploaded the first chapter for you to read online with more chapters to follow at a later date. 

 

The first chapter tells you how I went to my favourite bookshop. By chance, I spotted a book on obsessive-compulsive disorder and discovered I'd had the condition for years. In the following chapters of my book, I discuss the variations I struggled with, such as fear of harm and scrupulosity. Then, through the book, I discuss my recovery with the evidence-based treatment known as exposure-response prevention. 

 

Desire-Intrusive Thoughts tells you why I decided to become a CBT therapist for obsessive-compulsive disorder and now a writer. And the second part goes through the graduated process of recovery for people living with OCD. 

 

Later, I describe how I developed an interest in pure-intrusive thoughts and why people battle with false desire in sexual, religious, and harm obsessions.

 

In the final chapters, I look more deeply at this phenomenon and how exposure-response prevention treatment can be improved when it seems it doesn't have the desired outcome. I also discuss why deep brain stimulation is available as a treatment option. That is, when traditional therapy fails in the habituation process during exposure therapy.

 

To read an interview about my book, why not check out OCD Topic's Free Plan. You'll find it in the site's menu under Plans & Pricing. For now, you can read the first chapter provided. But if you want to read the book straight away, you can get a hard copy or instant download on Kindle at Amazon today! I do hope you'll like it and give it a review on Amazon. You can also share your review with the ones below. You can do this through the contact section on the site's homepage... Thanks so much for listening! 

Blank Paper
3DBook.png

Martin Johannson, Doctor

In her book, Carol Edwards examines a phenomenon well known to many OCD sufferers but still unexplored or even disregarded by the medical and psychological community: The highly disturbing feeling of liking the content of an intrusive thought or wanting to act on it, to the point where engaging with the obsession can have almost addictive properties. For many patients (especially those with harm OCD or sexual obsessions), this experience is the only part of their OCD that they do not manage to distance from very well even with CBT and can be the singular aspect which is keeping them stuck in an endless cycle of rumination and testing where they are trying to prove a feared desire wrong. This then tends to exacerbate the OCD and therefore increase the hyperfocus on the unwanted desirable feeling. The book includes multiple case studies (including Carol's personal story) which help sufferers understand this complicated part of their OCD and make it easier for professionals without OCD to understand the experience their clients suffer from. It also delivers a theory on the neurological background of this phenomenon and practical advice on how to treat these obsessions by cutting compulsions with ERP while avoiding being absorbed into the desirable feeling. My personal conclusion as both an OCD sufferer and medical professional: A great book that fills an important knowledge gap in the treatment of OCD and should be standard literature for every professional who is treating people with intrusive thoughts with a desire component.

I've been very impressed with reading your book and how well you know OCD. And letting people know that you have experienced what they are experiencing is very very important. I was thinking about the transgender obsession and that must be a really difficult one. Wow. OCD is like an abyss and finding your way through it is truly a journey and then there’s maintenance of course. You are so knowledgeable and it’s so easy to read and I mean that in a very complementary way. You make it so that the person suffering does not have to be a doctor to understand it. Thank you! you’re a wonderful writer, Deb

Ben Carney, Musician

What I liked most about "Desire-Intrusive Thoughts" is how the topic of desire has not been dismissed as a feature in pure obsessions. As the author points out, many clinicians keep it simple by saying it's just your OCD. It's true, yes, keep it simple, but it makes sense that since the pleasure side of our brain is partly involved in OCD, that somehow such interference needs addressing in therapy. I agree with the author that if aversion is unwanted then so is desire because each emotion or reaction is part of the disorder. In therapy, I know how hard it is to resist rituals to minimize disgust and reduce anxiety, but I can now see from reading this book how absorption happens more when desire is involved, affecting the habituation process.  I agree that people become so immersed in rituals to try and avoid any form of desire related to their obsessional fears. As a sufferer of OCD, the third part of the book cleared up a lot of confusion for me in that sense. OCD is a cruel disorder, and I think the author captures well how a biological explanation can help enhance treatment outcome. 

N. W., Driver

I found this book fascinating. The author includes her own experiences of living with OCD to begin with. In the second part of the book, she outlines how therapy for OCD works and uses therapist and client dialogues, which is good because it shows how the structure of therapy works. In the third part of the book, I  admire her for taking on quite a task to search for reasons why people seem to like the content of their intrusive thoughts that is actually unwanted. The brain is a strange thing and so reading about obsessions from a desire-aversion perspective was like wow, finally someone is brave enough to test the theory that while it's common knowledge that we do feel arousal despite that it's unwanted, there's more to it. The book cleverly explains that arousal is not just sexual but also "thrilling" when it mingles with harm obsessions and "wickedly luring" in religious obsessions. This book provides insight, showing why exposure-response prevention therapy might not be working and how to make it work. I'd say that the only minor downside about this book is that some of the technical reading on the biology of OCD (in the final chapters) was a little difficult to read, but overall, I recommend this book for anyone (and therapists) living with Pure O, and who especially have fears of liking their thoughts.  

Chase Craft, Animal Carer

An imperative study into the most torturous element of one of the more complex psychiatric illnesses.  

       There have been many important books  written about obsessive-compulsive disorder, in which most have centered around the more mainstream symptoms such as excessive hand washing, ridgid routines, and excruciating demands for perfection. While these branches of OCD cause much havoc in the lives of sufferers, there is also another hellish side to the illness that, while never manifesting itself visually, mercilessly torments it's victims with thoughts of disgust, violence, blasphemous and sexually suggestive themes. It brutalizes it's victims with doubts of one's character and sanity, while compounding immense shame to a person, forcing them to conceal it's horrific ideas, thus allowing it to resume it's mental savagery for long periods of time. This choice weapon of OCD is referred to as intrusive thoughts/obsessions, and in recent years, there have been a handful of very informative books to come out centering on this agonizing mental spector. 

       One such book, Desire-Intrusive Thoughts by Carol Edwards, delves into this very complex psychiatric phenomenon and provides the reader with an in depth look at one of the  most commonly misunderstood as well as more crippling forms of the disorder. She examines the intrusive feelings of guilt, desire and uncertainty that permits OCD to hold it's victims in bondage to the fear that it sprouts. 

       As a sufferer of intrusive thoughts(Pure O) since 1984, I found Carol's book to be astonishing, groundbreaking, encouraging, and just an absolute godsend to those of us who have carried the burden of Pure O throughout our lives. She shines a light on the deceptive feelings and arousal that the thoughts can bring making a person question their being and values. She explains the difference between a real desire to do harm and the illusion that OCD places on one's psyche. It provides the reader with even more understanding behind the mechanics that make OCD threat's seem so real and offers much hope as it presents an even better focus into the trickery that OCD uses to manipulate it's victims into keeping alive it's vicious cycle. This is an absolute must for those who have been held prisoners in their own mind by this brutal brain beast known as OCD!

book Reviews

Debora Jan Gray, Actor